Modern Art Museum of Yerevan

The Modern Art Museum was established in 1972 by the art critic Henrik Igityan, who was the director of the museum for 37 years. It was the first specialized museum for contemporary art in the Soviet Union, and for over 20 years, it kept its unique position. Since the socialist realism reigned supreme in the country and all beyond it was questioned, there was no financial assistance provided from the side of the Armenian Government; thus, the museum was opened solely thanks to the artists’ donations. The works of the 1960s generation – particularly the ones of Minas Avetisyan, Ashot Hovhannisyan, Martin Petrosyan, Hakob Hakobyan, Gayane Khachaturyan, Vruyr Galstyan, Henry and Robert Elibekyans, Harutyun Galents, Rudolf Khachatryan, Ashot Bayandour – are the main axis of the museum exhibit today as well. Later on, the exposition was fulfilled by the works of the younger generation of artists such as Sargis Hamalbashian, Arthur and Ararat Sarkissians, Marina Dilanyan, Albert Hakobyan, Teni Vardanyan, and others.


There are no thresholds and stairs at the entrance and inside the building. Therefore, it makes possible to independently visit and get acquainted with the museum's exposition.